Page 1+

Filters help you narrow your results by sorting through and reducing the number of records that appears in your search. When using the filters, you can eliminate unnecessary records from your results. Using multiple filters at the same time helps to retrieve a very specific results list. Filters may also be called refiners, limiters, or (in the case of Page 1+) facets.

How to filter using Page 1+:

• There are a number of filter categories located in the column to the right of your results list, under Tweak Your Results.
• You can sort your results Relevancy: Date -newest, Date-oldest, Title, & Author
• Remember: keep the Expand My Results switch toggled off  to make sure you are only getting search results from St. Clair College.
  • See Expand My Results section below for more clarification.
• Check the box(es) to the left of a filter, then click on the Apply Filter pop up box to refine by that criteria, (e.g. select Available Online, Peer-reviewed Journals, etc.)  to see the Library's online collection.
• Check the red box with a line through it to the right of the filter to exclude criteria, e.g. choosing this option next to Newspapers will show all resources held by the Library except newspapers.
• Filter Categories include:
  • Availability—You can check the availability of the items within the library collection.
    • Open Access
    • Peer-reviewed Journals
    • Available Online
    • Held by Library
  • Subjects – You can select certain subjects.
  • Author/Creator – You can filter your results if you are looking for a specific author or creator.
  • Library—You can pick select your preferred library campus.
  • Institution – Option available if you are requesting an item you library doesn’t have but can be borrowed through the Inter-library loan service from another Ontario College Library.
  • Location – Windsor Campus or Chatham Campus
  • Resource Type – You can limit your search to journal articles, books, newspapers, videos, etc.
  • Collection – You can filter records by choosing to only retrieve results from a specific library database or collection. Ex. CINAHL, Business Source Complete, etc.
  • Creation Date – You can set the date range to retrieve items published during a specific timeframe that will include all the dates in-between. Ex—2015 to 2022
  • Journal Title – Filter results to a specific journal(s)
  • Language – Filter by language.
  • New Records – You can find results that have been recently added.

Your applied filters will appear at the top of the right column under Active Filters. You have the following options available to manage your filters:

• You can lock specific filters such as date range and peer reviewed. You can apply certain filters by hovering your mouse over top of it and clicking the padlock to keep the filter throughout your search session.
• Use the Remember all filters if you have several filters you would like to keep active through your search session.  
• Click on the X at the end of each filter name or choose Reset filters to remove all filters.

You can select the resource from Resource Type category.

When conducting your search, make sure the Expand My Results switch in the right column with the filters is toggled off so you only get results from St. Clair College resources. It will remain grey in colour. 

If you have the Expand My Results switch toggled on (it will turn green), you will get search results not only from St. Clair College, but other Ontario College Libraries.

You will be able to see more item records, many of which you may not have access to because they are not included in the library collections and resources.   

However, if this is an item you need, please contact the library to discuss options about getting access. You can also recommend an item for purchasing by filling out our Library Purchase Request form. Library staff will review your recommendation and determine if it meets the criteria for our collection.

Please see our Collection Development Policy for more information about our resource selection process.