LibGuides: Indigenous Resources: Health and Wellness

Indigenous Health Databases

Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS)
The Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) database contains 86,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. ASTIS, a project of the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary, also maintains subset databases about specific regions, subjects and projects.
Indigenous Studies Portal (I-Portal - University of Saskatchewan)
Native American Ethnobotany
A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.
Circumpolar Health Bibliographic database
Native Health Database (University of New Mexico)
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.

Indigenous Health Web Resources

Indigenous Health
This page provides helpful resources about Indigenous Health.
Indigenous Health Research Advisory Committee
The Indigenous Health Research Advisory Committee (IHRAC) is a working group of the Chronic Pain Network, comprised of community members, Elders, patients, clinicians and health researchers from across Canada.
Indigenous Services of Canada: Indigenous Health
Find information about health care services and non-insured health benefits (NIHB), careers, how to fight drug and substance use, environmental health, food safety and how to have a healthy pregnancy.
Institute of Indigenous Peoples' Health
The Institute of Indigenous Peoples' Health (IIPH) fosters the advancement of a national health research agenda to improve and promote the health of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples in Canada, through research, knowledge translation and capacity building. The Institute's pursuit of research excellence is enhanced by respect for community research priorities and Indigenous knowledges, values and cultures.
National Aboriginal Health Organization
The National Aboriginal History Organization or NAHO is an internationally recognized research, publishing, and collection organization.
National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (Link Database)
The Indigenous Health Links Database includes links to research institutes and organizations undertaking Indigenous health research and knowledge translation across Canada and internationally. The database can be searched by key word, organization name, geographic location, or organization type. Compiled by the National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (NCCIH), this listing is based on publicly available information on organizational websites.
National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (Researchers Database)
Indigenous Health Researchers Database is a comprehensive listing of researchers who are affiliated with a Canadian university and have a wide range of expertise related to the health of Indigenous peoples. These researchers have undertaken some form of research related to the health and well-being of First Nations, Inuit and/or Métis peoples, ranging from one study to a lifetime of work in a particular area.
Tajikeimɨk
Tajikeimɨk is the new and developing health and wellness organization being created to lead health transformation for Mi’kmaw communities in Nova Scotia.

Health Statistics and Data

First Nations Information Governance Centre Data Online
FNIGC Data Online is an online service from the First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC), Canada’s premier source of information about First Nations people living on reserve and in northern communities across Canada.
Aboriginal Health Research - Reports and Publications (Health Canada)
The page provides links to Indigenous Health statistics and data gathered by the Government of Canada.
Indigenous health in Canada - Statistics & Facts
Statista provides statistics and data about Indigenous Health.

Podcasts and Videos

Nurses' Voices (YouTube)

Nurses’ Voices is a unique new video and audio series that will amplify the voices of nurses to help them adapt and excel within these changing and uncertain times. Hosted by Gail Donner and Mary Wheeler, Nurses’ Voices will feature conversations with a diverse group of Canadian nurses from a variety of workplaces. Nurses’ Voices is generously supported by Pfizer, the Canadian Nurses Foundation and the Canadian Nurses Association.

Interior Voices Podcast

Interior Voices is our Aboriginal health and wellness podcast series that explores the intersection of health and culture in the workplace, our everyday lives and patient care.

NCCIH KNOWLEDGE RESOURCES & Publications

This is a free access podcast series from NCCIH which discusses various health and wellness topics and issues specific Indigenous peoples and their communities.

Indigenous Health MedTalk

Indigenous Health MedTalk covers topics related to women's and men's health, family health and wellness, mental health, sexual health and community innovations related to and affecting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

Indigenae

Indigenae is a community-guided podcast that is dedicated to Indigenous wxmen’s health and wellbeing. This is a podcast put out by the Center for Indigenous Health.

Indigenous Resources

Indigenous Health Associations

Related Guides