Indigenous Resources

“Treaties are agreements made between the Government of Canada, Indigenous groups and often provinces and territories that define ongoing rights and obligations on all sides. These agreements set out continuing treaty rights and benefits for each group” (From Government of Canada, 2020).

This collection of resources provides information about the treaties and land agreements that make up Canada. 

• Myth Busters: Debunking Myths About Indigenous Peoples in Canada

This article by the team at Cambium Indigenous Professional Services (CIPS) dispels common misconceptions about Indigenous communities, such as living exclusively on reserves, being exempt from taxes, and receiving free post-secondary education. It provides factual information to correct these myths and highlights the diversity and varied experiences of Indigenous peoples across Canada.

• Insight on 10 Myths About Indigenous Peoples

This article by Indigenous Corporate Training Inc. debunks 10 common misconceptions about Indigenous peoples in Canada. It provides accurate information to replace these myths and promote better understanding.

• A History of Treaty-Making in Canada

This resource discusses the treaty history of Canada between Indigenous peoples and the Crown “since the 18th century have permitted the evolution of Canada as we know it” -Government of Canada: CIRNAC

• Maps of Treaty-Making in Canada

CIRNAC resource that contains illustrated maps of treaties of Canada from the last 300 years of Canadian history, with the focus of the treaties negotiated between 1725 and 1923.

• Treaties (Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba)

This comprehensive resource, a partnership between Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) and Canada, provides information about the treaties of Canada, discussing the history and relationships between the parties involved with the creation of the treaties.

• Treaties, Surrenders and Agreement

Library and Archives Canada database that provides access to an extensive collection of historic documents of Canadian Indian treaties, land surrenders, and agreements.

• Treaties and Agreements

• “Learn about historic and modern treaties in Canada, treaty rights and the treaty relationship” – Government of Canada: Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) Department

• Treaties from 1760 - 1923: Two sides to the story

This CBC article by Isabelle Montpetit discusses the history of the treaties signed between the Indigenous peoples of Canada and the Crown between 1725 and 1923, looking what both sides received from these deals.

• Treaties with Indigenous people in Canada

“Everything you wanted to know about treaties but were afraid to ask. Not really... but here is brief explainer about treaties, we like to call Treaty 101” - CBC Radio: Unreserved short 2.5-minute video that explains treaties of Canada.

• Treaties with Indigenous Peoples in Canada

This Canadian Encyclopedia article by Anthony J. Hill provides a detailed historical overview of the treaties that exist between Indigenous peoples and the Crown that shaped Canada into a nation.

• Treaty Research Reports

“Read historical interpretations of treaties the Crown has signed with Aboriginal peoples since the 18th century” - Government of Canada: CIRNAC

• Treaty Texts

Read the full text historical treaties of Canada from the mid 1700s to 1900s – Government of Canada: CIRNAC.

• National Aboriginal Document Database: Treaties

Links to copies of the historic treaties between the Indigenous peoples of Canada and the Crown made public through Library and Archives of Canada.

• APTN Archive: Indian Act

Archived articles about the Indian Act on the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network.

• How Canada Set Up Aboriginal Treaties to Keep First Nations Down

Written by TVO Current Affairs-- "The following is excerpted from "Canada’s Colonial Constitution," an essay by John Borrows, published in The Right Relationship: Reimagining the Implementation of Historical Treaties. The book, from University of Toronto press, comprises scholarly essays on the history of First Nations treaties with Canada and on the challenges they present today" (TVO Today, 2017, para. 1).

Ontario Treaties

There are more than 40 treaties and land agreements between Indigenous groups and the Ontario government at all levels. This list provides links to maps and information about the treaties that make up Ontario.

• Maps of Ontario Treaties and Reserves

  Interactive map of the treaties and first nations reserves in Ontario.
• Treaties-Ontario Ministry of Indigenous Affairs

  "Learn more about the treaties, treaty relationships and treaty rights that shape Ontario." This resource provides information such as a brief history of Ontario treaties, treaty relationships, treaty rights, as well as suggested teaching and learning tools and materials.
• Treaties in Ontario: what are they and what do they do?

  In this CBC article, Anishinaabe journalist Rhiannon Johnson discusses treaties of Ontario, providing a historical overview of treaties that make up Ontario, paying particular attention to the Upper Canada, Robinson and Williams Treaties, as well as Treaties 3, 5, and 9.
• A Short History of Treaty Nomenclature in Ontario

  In this co-written blog post by Daniel Laxer, Jean-Pierre Morin and Alison Norman for ActiveHistory.ca, a brief history for the treaties that of Ontario. This purpose of this post is to provide an understanding and clarification of the complicated history surrounding Ontario treaties.

Treaties of Windsor-Essex and Chatham-Kent

There are two treaties that cover the southern most counties in Ontario:

• Treaty 2 - McKee Purchase

  The McKee treaty includes communities in Windsor-Essex, Chatham-Kent counties, as well as Middlesex & Elgin counties, as well as London. This treaty was signed in 1790.
• Treaty 35

  This treaty currently covers the communities of Lasalle and Amherstburg and was signed in August 1833.