Indigenous Resources

For more than 160 years, over 150,000 Indigenous children were removed from their families and communities and sent to residential schools across Canada. These schools were “government-sponsored religious schools that were established to assimilate Indigenous children into Euro-Canadian culture” (From Miller, The Canadian Encyclopedia: Residential School in Canada 2021, para. 1). Although the last school closed in 1996, the devastation and residual impact from these experiences has continued to negatively affect not only the Indigenous survivor, but also their families and communities. In 2007, the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement implemented, leading to the establishment of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC), and resulting in a formal apology Prime Minister Stephan Harper in 2008.   

This collection of resources provides information about the history and impact of the residential school system in Canada. 

• The Anglican Church of Canada: Historical Sketch for Anglican Residential Schools

  Provides information about the Anglican Church of Canada's role in Indian residential schools. This particular article provides a timeline of residential schools operated by the Anglican Church.
• Residential Schools in Canada (From The Canadian Encyclopedia)

  Article by J.R. Miller discussing the history and key impact Residential schools has had on the culture, community, and generations of Indigenous peoples.
• The Children Remembered - Residential School Archive Project (United Church of Canada)

  Provides information about the United Church of Canada's role in Indian residential schools. This is a photography archive project to remember the survivors of residential schools.
• Indian Residential Schools (From Government of Canada)

  Government resource providing information about Indian Residential schools. Topics include Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, Apology to Former Students of Indian Residential Schools, Common Experience Payments, Independent Assessment Process Commemoration, Health & Healing, Advocacy & Public Information Program, and Timeline – Indian Residential Schools.
• Indian Residential Schools and the RCMP

  RCMP resource providing information about the role they played in Indian Residential schools.
• The Presbyterian Church In Canada Archives: Residential Schools

  Provides information about the Presbyterian Church of Canada's role in Indian residential schools.
• Residential Schools: Photographic Collections (From Library and Archives Canada)

  Library and Archives Canada presents photographs from its collection on Residential Schools, taken between 1885 and 1996. This single portal allows easy access to photos from the province or region of your choice.
• The Residential School System

  Indigenous foundations, created by the First Nations Studies program at UBC, is a resource that provides information on topics relating to the Indigenous people of Canada. This link provides information about residential schools and the impact they have had on the culture, communities, and generations of Indigenous peoples.
• The role of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police during the Indian Residential School system (From Government of Canada)

  The first complete assessment of the RCMP’s involvement in the Indian Residential School (IRS) system.
• A timeline of residential schools, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (From CBC)

  CBC article outline the events that happening with residential schools, and TRC.
• Your questions answered about Canada's residential school system

  CBC article that answers questions about residential schools.

• Beyond 94: Truth and Reconciliation in Canada

  This CBC resources monitors and updates progress being made towards the 94 calls of action recommended from the TRC.
• CFLA-FCAB Indigenous Resources

  The Canadian Federation of Library Associations/ Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques Indigenous Hub provides links to resources relating to Indigenous topics for the purpose of education and initiatives that support libraries, archives, and culture memory institutions.
• CFLA-FCAB Truth and Reconciliation Report - Recommendations

  Canadian Federation of Library Associations/ Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques response to TRC final report, making recommendations for what libraries can do to.
• Library and Archives Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission Web Archive

  "Library and Archives Canada's (LAC) Truth and Reconciliation Commission Web Archive provides access to archival copies of the websites of organizations connected with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC), either as active partners at national events or through initiatives to support commemoration...This collection brings together resources that address the TRC directly, and its impact on the work of truth and reconciliation in Canadian society more generally" (para. 1-2).
• National Centre for Truth & Reconciliation (NCTR)

  "The NCTR was created as part of the mandate of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC). The TRC was charged to listen to Survivors, their families, communities and others affected by the residential school system and educate Canadians about their experiences. The resulting collection of statements, documents and other materials now forms the sacred heart of the NCTR" (From About NCTR section, n.d., para. 2).
• Report on the Results from the Survey on Reconciliation Action & Awareness in Canadian Archives

  Steering Committee on Canada's Archives report of the responses to the TRC.
• TRC: Resources

  Resource page on TRC website. Includes links to resources about Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, ,National Aboriginal Organizations, Government of Canada, Reconciliation, & Educational Resources.
• Truth and Reconciliation: Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada

  Truth and Reconciliation section of the four-part of the Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada series in partnership with Royal Canadian Geographical Society and Canada's national Indigenous organizations providing information about the TRC. Chapters include information about history, struggles and challenges facing, healing process, legality, reconciliation, and frequently asked questions.
• Truth and Reconciliation Commission (From The Canadian Encyclopedia)

  Article by Ry Moran provides information TRC, including the events that led to the creation of the TRC, ongoing challenges, final report, impact and perspective of Indigenous peoples.
• Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada

  TRC website
• Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action

  “In order to redress the legacy of residential schools and advance the process of Canadian reconciliation, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission makes the [94] calls to action” (From TRC Final Report, 2015, p. 1)